Twas The Week Before Christmas

Each year during the holidays it’s the same situation, we have to turn away last minute people who get their dogs done ONCE if that every year, sometimes two and three years go by. They are matted, flea infested, sometimes sick, almost never have shots and we are expected by the “owners” to fix, shave, and make “their” pet look nice. We are expected to create the illusion that they actually love and care for it, along with charge them less because they can’t afford it or something, when we have no choice, no room, no space or time to complete such a task leaving the only option to be , “no”. Often these people flip shit, they get mad or storm out and bash our business to they’re “friends”. We go on about our day with the dogs on our books who have had appointments for up to 6 months in advance we try to make the best of the day, but always lingering in our minds is that poor dog we couldn’t help. We wonder if maybe the next shop did, or if they would “do it on their own”. We never forget these dogs so I thought I’d try to lighten the load for some of us with a little rendition of Twas the Night before Christmas. Enjoy and Merry Christmas to all the pet stylist, may sanity stay with you all!!” ~Sheena

Twas the week before Christmas, all threw polk county every dog owner called the fleas needed off! The matts brushed out!
With hope they SCREAMED “I need an appointment now!”

The dogs nestled in their beds, had good owners who had pre booked for years, while these last minute people had visions of sugar plums dancing in their heads, I the Pet stylist in my dreams and in my hopes try to keep my sanity!

When at my shop door I heard a clatter, I sprang up from my table to see what was the matter!! Away to the tissues I flew like a Flash, wiped my tears away, I knew it had been years,

The twinkle of white lights from the shop tree gave the luster of a tiny thing below on a lead, what to my wondering eyes should appear, but a yorkiepoo matted from head to rear

With a tall young woman, holding a Valentino purse, I knew at that moment she had to be rich. More rapid then eagles her stories they came, she whistled and shouted, even called me out of my name!

Now seriously! Now please! Now try, and I’ll pay more! “I was on vacation. on leave, on missions and more” to the north side of town back to the south shops, she called, she called, she called them all!!

As the spots have filed for the Christmas rush, we meet this obstacle each and every year, and so we have no choice but to turn them away, And so on to the next grooming shop that lady flew, with a mind full of shit and a tiny pelted yorkiepoo.

And then in a twinkling I heard in the lobby
the prancing and pawing of each little paw
as I drew in my head and was turning around
In came the regular with a doodle named hound!

He was finished in full coat from head to paw
and his haircut was perfect, no ashes or soot
A bundle of flowers his owner had flung on my desk
he looked like he was proud, and began a speech

His eyes-how they twinkled! his dimples so merry!
his cheeks were like roses, his nose like a cherry
his lit up when he spoke of the Christmas bow
and how hounds coat was as white as snow

The bundle of cash he held tight in his hand
and the flowers encircled the money like a wreath.
he said its for you! its a little thank you!!
I shook with shock, like a bowlful of jelly!!

He was honest and loving, a right jolly dog owner
and I laughed when I saw the gift, in spite of myself
a wink of his eye and a twist of his head
soon let me know, I had done a great job like he said!

He spoke many a word, then went straight home
and filled his feeds, gave good reviews!!
he even shared his posts for all to know!!
He PRE BOOKS APPOINTMENTS with Tangled Tails Pet Spa!!

I sprang from my table clippers in hand, gave him a call!!
and explained how my day was made! but I heard him exclaim,
‘er he hung up the phone’
Happy Christmas To All, and To All A Good Night!!

Leave a Reply

